Resources

NB. This is very much a work in progress, so if you have any comments / feedback about the list, do let me know (you can DM me on Twitter @priv_lib)

Privacy tools

1Password Password manager
AdAway Ad blocker
Adblock Plus Ad blocker
Adblocker Ad blocker
Adium Encryption (For chat)
Anonymouse
Bitmask VPN
Bleachbit Cleaner
Blur Keeps passwords, payments and privacy secure
Ccleaner Cleaner
Certbot Enables https on website
Certbot HTTPS
Checkshorturl Checks shortened URLs to see where they are really going
Cleanslate Cleaner
Cookie Cadger Analyse data traffic (sniffen)
Crumble Block third party cookies
Cryptocat Encryption (For chat)
Datapp Analyse data traffic (sniffen)
Deepfreeze Cleaner
Digital Security Helpline help@accessnow.org
Discard.email Email
Disconnect Search Browser addon
Disconnect.me
Duckduckgo Search engine
Enigmal Email
Firesheep Browser addon
Forget That Page Chrome Extension
Ghostery Ad blocker
Google analytics opt-out Browser addon
Google Dashboard
Google Web Search History
HTTPS everywhere Encryption
Hushmail Email
IP location
Ixquick (aka Startpage?) Search engine
JustDelete.me
KeepassX Password manager
Let’s encrypt Encryption
Lightbeam Analyse data traffic (sniffen)
Ninja Proxy
Noscript
OpenVPN VPN
Orbot
Orweb
Oscobo Search engine
Panopticlick Browser addon
Peekier Search engine
Pidgin Encryption (For chat)
Piwick Analytics alternative to Google Analytics
Pretty Good Privacy Email
Privacy badger Browser addon
Privacy Grade
Private internet access VPN
Proton  Mail Encryption (for email)
Qwant Search engine
Safari Browser
Scriptsafe
Search Incognito Search engine
Signal private messenger
SMAC MAC address spoofing
SnapChat/SnapHack
Startpage (aka Ixquick?) Search engine
TAILS
tcpdump Analyse data traffic (sniffen)
Tor Browser
TrackerDetector
Tracking observer Web tracking detection platform
Trackmenot Browser addon
Tunnelbear
Tutanota Encrypted email
uBlock Origin Block third party cookies
Vaultlet Email
VPNs
Web of Trust
wireshark Analyse data traffic (sniffen)
Zenmate
Webbkoll Check how good on Data protection your website is

Privacy websites

AboutCookies.org www.aboutcookies.org
Act Now Training http://www.actnow.org.uk/
American Civil Liberties Union http://www.aclu.org
Bits of Freedom https://www.bof.nl/
Book Industry Communication http://www.bic.org.uk
Brussels Privacy Hub http://www.brusselsprivacyhub.org
CAGE http://cageuk.org/
Campaign for Reader Privacy http://readerprivacy.org
Campaign for Reader Privacy http://www.readerprivacy.org
Choose privacy week https://chooseprivacyweek.org/
Common Thread Network http://www.commonthreatnetwork.org
Cryptoparty http://www.cryptoparty.in
Cryptoparty Newcastle Forum https://forum.cryptopartynewcastle.org
Data Privacy Project http://www.dataprivacyproject.org
Data security incident trends ICO https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/data-security-incident-trends/
Datonomy http://datonomy.eu
Digital Unite http://www.digitalunite.com
Digitale Gesellschaft https://digitalegesellschaft.de/
Don’t spy on us http://www.dontspyonus.org.uk
EBLIDA http://www.eblida.org
EDRI https://edri.org/
Electronic Frontier Foundation https://www.eff.org/
Electronic Privacy Information Center https://www.epic.org/
European Interactive Digital Advertising Alliance www.edaa.eu
Filtrala.org – Associated Whitleblowing Press https://filtrala.org/
Frontline Defenders https://www.frontlinedefenders.org/
GetLinkInfo http://www.getlinkinfo.com
Global Compliance Resource Center https://www.ciphercloud.com/resources/global-compliance-resource-center/
Go to Hellman http://go-t0-hellman.blogspot.com
HaveIbeenpwned www.haveibeenpwned.com 
How privacy friendly is your site? http://webbkoll.dataskydd.net/en
HTTPS grading of UK public libraries https://www.librarieshacked.org/tutorials/httpsgrading
Identity Theft Resource Center http://www.idtheftcenter.org/
IFLA FAIFE http://www.ifla.org/faife
Information Privacy Law http://www.informationprivacylaw.com
International Association of Privacy Professionals http://www.iapp.org
International Association of Privacy Professionals resources http://www.iapp.org/resources
La Quadrature du Net and Access https://www.laquadrature.net/en/
Let’s encrypt http://www.letsencrypt.org
Libraries guide to patron privacy http://patronprivacy.herokuapp.com/ 
Library app security https://www.librarieshacked.org/articles/libraryappsecurity
Library Freedom Project https://libraryfreedomproject.org
Mailbox.org http://mailbox.org
Manila principles on intermediary liability http://manilaprinciples.org
Mobile app security https://www.librarieshacked.org/articles/mobileappsecurity
NakedCitizens.eu nakedcitizens.eu
Nitrokey https://www.nitrokey.com
Nymity GDPR toolkit https://www.nymity.com/gdpr-toolkit/download.aspx
OnGuard Online : tipsto help you stay safe and secure online https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/features/feature-0038-onguardonline
Open Rights Group https://www.openrightsgroup.org/
Panopticon blog http://panopticonblog.com/
Panoptykon Foundation https://en.panoptykon.org/
Pep Foundation http://www.pep-project.org/2016-02/
PersonalData.IO, a service that helps trailblaze then automate such requests http://www.personaldata.io
Philosophy of Information (Luciano Floridi) http://www.philosophyofinformation.net
Principles for technology rights and opportunity https://techrightsandopportunityprinciples.org
Privacy camp http://privacycamp.eu
Privacy in libraries in the digital age http://libraryprivacy.tumblr.com/
Privacy International https://www.privacyinternational.org/ 
Privacy law scholars http://www.privacylawscholars.com
Privacy News headlines https://privacynewshighlights.wordpress.com/
Privacy Rights Clearinghouse http://privacyrights.org/data-breach
Privacy SOS http://privacysos.org
Privacy Tools https://www.privacytools.io
Privacy Training Center https://www.privacytraining.org
Privacy, Compliance & Data Security Association http://finallypcds.org
Ranking digital rights http://www.rankingdigitalrights.org
Right to Information – good law and practice http://www.right2info.org
Stay safe online https://staysafeonline.org 
Surveillance self defense https://ssd.eff.org/en
Tactical Technology Collective https://tacticaltech.org/
Teaching Privacy Project http://www.teachingprivacy.org
Terms of service didn’t read project https://tosdr.org
The Center for Investigative Journalism http://www.tcij.org
The Julia Group http://www.thejuliagroup.com/
Tor Project https://www.torproject.org/
TRUSTe privacy programs (and their dispute resolution program) https://www.truste.com/consumer-resourcese/
Usable Privacy Policy research project http://usableprivacy.org
Your Choices Online www.youronlinechoices.eu

 

Advertisements